Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Johnson County student athletes named to NJCAA Academic teams

JCCC had 28 student athletes earn NJCAA All-Academic honors in 2018-19
JCCC had 28 student athletes earn NJCAA All-Academic honors in 2018-19

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) recently announced its All-Academic Teams for the 2018-19 school year, and Johnson County Community College had 28 student-athletes earn honors. 

The 28 student-athletes represented seven sports, led by 10 All-Academic Team recipients from the Cavaliers' women's soccer team. Baseball followed with six and volleyball had five earn honors. 

First-team honors went to student-athletes that produced a 4.0 grade point average. Second-team honors go to grade points of 3.8-3.99 and third-team honors went to those with a 3.60-3.79 GPA. 

Following is the list of NJCAA All-Academic Team winners from JCCC.

First-Team All-Academic (4.0)
Dylan Bierman – BaseballAll
Sung Min Cho – Men's Soccer
Christen Curry – Women's Basketball
William Heller – Baseball
Hannah Leimkuhler – Women's Soccer
Lacey Pauly – Volleyball
Austin Shaw – Baseball
Georgia Vernardakis – Women's Soccer
Brittney Woolington – Women's Soccer 

Second-Team (3.80-3.99)
Brooklyn Armbruster – Women's Soccer
Rylie Barnum – Volleyball
Torey Burkhardt – Softball, Volleyball
Kylie Hays – Softball
Morgan Hill – Women's Soccer
Liz Palmer – Women's Soccer
Garrett Wood - Baseball

Third-Team (3.60-4.79)
Derek Abeln - Baseball
Luis Alanis – Men's Soccer
Anthony Amicangelo – Baseball
Cortlyn Ash – Women's Soccer
Krystal Bowie – Volleyball
Chris Esposito – Baseball
Kayla Flores – Women's Soccer
Anna Hester – Volleyball
Kayla Niegenfind – Volleyball
Jenna Peckham – Women's Basketball
Aaliyah Pierce – Women's Soccer
Chyna Schlitz – Women's Soccer